Planting Seeds In K Cups: An Ongoing Experiment – Part One

063I saw this post from Buzzfeed and felt validated in trying this experiment.

DSCN0117I saved my own used K cups and asked my co-workers to save theirs over the course of a couple months. Then I gathered all of them, numbered them, and made a spreadsheet to keep track of the different types of coffee.

DSCN0119I used only Heinz Tomato Seeds for this particular part of the experiment.

Then I ripped the foil off all the cups and dumped the coffee grounds into a plastic container. I had to be careful not to save any coffee grounds that contained mold.

DSCN0518I decided to use 3 different types of soil mixes for the tomato seeds: 1) Miracle Gro Gardening Soil, 2) coffee grounds 3) a combination of gardening soil and coffee grounds. The spreadsheet really came in handy here.

DSCN0520 DSCN0521Hopefully, I’ll have some seedlings by the end of this week. I’ll keep you posted.

535

Leave a Reply

